My Top 10 Beauty Products For The Face

Much like any other girl, when I step into a drugstore, I usually pick up way more things than needed. It’s just that I love trying out new beauty products. What if this brand works better? And it’s cheaper, too! That’s how it goes in my mind. But over the years, I’ve narrowed down my must-haves. These are the products I rely on and which I go back to time and time again.

Just-For-The-FaceI’ve talked about my absolute love for Burt’s Bees so it’s no surprise that you’ll find three of the five products above are from them. Because I like variety, I alternate between the Soap Bark & Chamomile Deep Cleansing Cream and Orange Essence Facial Cleanser. Both smell wonderful and do a great job of getting icky make up off! Just before retiring for the day, I use a little of their Sensitive Night Cream (if I remember).

Since it’s sunny in Malaysia all year through, a good sunscreen is pivotal. I use L’Oreal’s UV Perfect which has an SPF 50. The only downside of this sunscreen is that it tends to make my skin look oily after a couple of hours. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect sunscreen (any suggestions?). So if I’m wearing make up, I use a moisturizer by Cetaphil. It’s light – perfect for use under foundation.

And speaking of make up…

MakeUp-FavouritesAs you can see, I’m a tad biased towards MAC. It could be that it was the first make up brand that I used when I started experimenting with eye shadows and lipsticks at 18 but I don’t think that’s the only reason. Since then, I’ve tried various other brands and none of them make me as happy as MAC : ) Now, let’s be clear. I don’t use foundation on a daily basis but when I do, Studio Sculpt is usually what I reach for. Not only does it have SPF 15, it also helps revitalise my dry skin. MAC’s Select Cover-Up is the latest addition to my repertoire of make up products. Though it’s meant to conceal dark circles under the eye, I use it just about anywhere I find a spot or blotch. Super handy! Most days, I skip the foundation and am perfectly content to use MAC’s Studio Careblend Pressed Powder to even out my skin tone.

And of course, one absolutely cannot forget blusher. I wrote about the All In One blusher by Body Shop months ago and am still loving it. I’m not ashamed to admit that I try just about every mascara that comes out. While I still love this one, I received Body Shop’s Big & Curvy mascara as a Christmas gift and must say that it’s doing a fabulous job of creating lush lashes.

So there you have it. My top 10 can’t-live-without, must-have, go-to beauty products for the face.

Leave a Reply

