How To Get Gorgeous Curly Hair

how-to-get-gorgeous-curly-hairChances are, if you were born with curly hair, frizz is your no. 1 enemy. Welcome to my world! Take joy in the fact that you are not alone. I’ve had a love-hate relationship with my super thick curly hair. Hating it so much as I was growing up that I eventually cut it all off in the hopes of achieving the Halle Berry look. That didn’t quite work out as I had hoped. And then, slowly learning to embrace my curls when I hit my twenties.

Along the way, I’ve learnt a few tricks which help to keep my hair under control. I’m ashamed to say that I don’t follow this routine as closely as I should and still suffer from frizz attack because of my laziness but when I do, the difference it makes to my hair is obvious. So, just in case you’re still in the “I hate my hair!” phase, I thought I’d share my routine with you today.

1. A good oil soak every week helps. I use extra virgin coconut oil. Just slather your hair in the oil, making sure not to miss the ends, then slip on a face mask and watch the latest episode of Glee. An hour later, jump into the shower and…

2. Shampoo your hair well. My old favourite is the Kerastase Bain Oleo-Curl shampoo and conditioner. Focus on the scalp while you’re shampooing (no nails, please) and apply conditioner starting from about an inch away from the roots all the way to the tips of your hair. Don’t worry… I assure you that once you’re done, your hair won’t look greasy from the coconut oil.

3. Never use a towel to dry your hair. Doing this definitely welcomes Mr. Frizz. Instead, wring your hair out in the shower and wrap it up in a cotton t shirt. Also, I stay away from all heat styling tools. That means, no straighteners, curling irons or even a hair dryer. Letting your hair air dry is the best option.

4. Once your hair is 70% dry, apply a good anti frizz product. Currently, I’m into Moroccan Oil Treatment. This thing really works! And to end it all, shape your curls by twirling pieces around a finger. Then, leave your hair alone! I’m often tempted to pull my hair into a ponytail or twist it into a bun as the day goes by but doing so will ruin your curls.

I hope that helps : ) What are your hair care tips and tricks?

(Photo of the girl with amazing hair from Wildfox)

Leave a Reply

