What’s The Best Date You’ve Ever Had?

I watched an interesting talk on TED last night about the link between happiness and gratefulness. The speaker urged us to consider the idea that it isn’t happiness which makes us grateful; rather it’s gratefulness that makes us happy. Naturally, this got me thinking about all the things in my life for which I’m grateful for. And there are a lot! But what I’m most grateful for is my relationship with Jon. It’s been over 10 years since we met and I can happily say that he’s been my best friend ever since. There’s nothing quite like being married to your best friend : )

jon-and-i{Jon and I. We won a photoshoot just before our wedding}

Over the years we’ve had some amazing dates. Ones that were fancy and planned (and expensive). But one night in particular stands out. At the time, Jon and I were still dating. And I was having a really really bad day. After almost 13 hours of experimenting non-stop in the lab, due to one tiny error (I tripped and fell while carrying my petri dishes), the experiment failed and everything had to be discarded. I returned home tired and annoyed, thinking only of having a hot shower and sitting in front of the telly for an hour before retiring for the night. But lo and behold, that was not to be. When I reached home, I realised that there was a power failure and so, I had no electricity. With no hot shower, no tv or even the possibility of making a hot drink, I’d had it!

It was around 10pm when I called Jon to vent. He insisted that he’d drive over to take me out for dinner and coffee. I declined saying I was too tired and didn’t feel like going out. But he wouldn’t take No for an answer and twenty minutes later, he was at the door. As he drove me to a nearby restaurant, Jon calmly asked me to pass him something from the glove compartment. I opened the compartment only to find my favourite magazine rolled up and hidden inside. It was a surprise! And it put a smile on my face. The rest of the night was absolutely wonderful. We ate, talked and laughed a lot. I didn’t think about my lousy day at all. Instead, I was happy.

In a few years, we were married. And still enjoying fabulous dates.

our-wedding{Our wedding day}

What about you? What’s the best date you’ve ever had? Tell all…

PS. Dating etiquette 101: What to expect on a first date and who should pay on a first date?

Leave a Reply

