My Favourite Hotel in Penang?

noordin-mews-penang

This could very well be my favourite hotel in Penang. I’m on a perpetual hunt for hotels with character and charm. I’ve stayed at a lot of 5-star hotels around the world (thanks Mom and Pa) but I usually find that one room doesn’t differ much from the next. Boutique hotels, on the other hand, are quite special! I had read about Noordin Mews while doing my internet search for places to stay in Penang and was dying to give it a try. The place look gorgeous and the price, just right. So when Jon and I decided to make a short trip there, I immediately booked a room.

noordin-mews-penang-roomI’m very happy to report that we were not disappointed! We chose to stay at the Mews Downstairs which is just beside the pool and lush tropical garden. I literally felt like I had been transported to some faraway place – maybe the swinging 60s in Shanghai? – as the hotel is decorated (albeit subtly) in such a style. noordin mews penang 4noordin-mews-penang-3It would be great for a quick getaway with just your sweetheart or with the whole family. There’s such a relaxed vibe about the place. Breakfast was served the next day and gosh, was it a wonderful way to start the day. As you can see, I ate a lot!

breakfast-at-noordin-mewsDuring the day, we walked to nearby streets. Being huge fans of art, Jon and I strolled (first under blazing sun and later, in pouring rain) to Armenian Street. It’s only about a 15 minute walk away and definitely worth checking out. At night, we asked the staff at the hotel to recommend the best spot for Char Kway Teow. To our delight, he whipped out a map, started explaining and drawing directions for us to follow. Follow we did and in less than 10 minutes, we were enjoying some of the best food we’ve had in Penang. Feeling a little stuffed, we sat by the pool for hours after dinner… dreaming about the future : ) Candles were lit everywhere and I couldn’t help but feel so blessed.

I tell you guys, go stay at this place! You’ll love it.

PS. This isn’t a sponsored post. I simply love Noordin Mews this much.
PPS. More travel stories.

Leave a Reply

