My Spirit Animal

elephant

I first heard about Power Animals when learning Reiki over a decade ago. My dad had insisted that my sister and I attend the course and so we went, thinking that this must be some hocus pocus stuff. Healing with energy? Even then, my scientific mind needed facts and figures, real concrete proof that this “Reiki thing” worked. But we trudged along and I tried to keep an open mind. I’m not sure the classes changed my mind completely but I’ve since seen how others have benefited greatly from practising Reiki and hey, if it works for them, why not? I have to admit, I don’t use my Reiki powers now and never gave a thought to the notion of having a Power Animal, a guardian angel of sorts.

But! I read about Spirit Animals from one of my go-to bloggers, Kathleen and this was interesting. A completely different thing from Power Animals. Have you heard of Spirit Animals? Do you know yours? It’s as simple as asking yourself, “If I was an animal, what would I be and why?”

I closed my eyes, took a deep breath and asked myself which animal I connected to the most. The answer came immediately. An elephant! I’ve always had a connection to this big, gentle, calm, wise, majestic beast. It must have been while watching Dumbo that I first fell for the elephant. But it was when I visited our local zoo and saw elephants up close that I fell head over heels in love. I remember standing in front of the elephant enclosure and being awed by this awkward yet extremely beautiful animal. Despite their size, they moved gracefully. And they radiated a sense of peace. I look into their eyes (with those long lashes) and see a beautiful soul. And I think they feel my love! When I was about ten years old, my parents took me to the Singapore Zoo. There, I was selected from a crowd of hundreds (imagine that!) to feed an elephant a small pineapple, skin and all intact. After giving the fruit to this huge elephant standing in front of me (he took it so gently), the trainer asked me to close my eyes. Without hesitation (probably because I was ten), I did. And would you guess what that big elephant did? He planted a wet kiss right on my face! My sis and mom went, “Eww” but I felt blessed. And don’t get me started on baby elephants. Aren’t they the cutest? While I certainly do not possess all the wonderful characteristics of the elephant, we share some similarities and it’s my aim to always keep their wonderfulness in thought : )

So, do you have a Spirit Animal? And why? I’d love to hear.

(Photo from National Geographic)

Leave a Reply

