What Would You Change?

Let's-ChangeIf with a snap of a finger, you could have your way and change anything, what would it be? A few days ago, an interesting piece in Oprah’s September issue asked readers: If you could make over anything, what would it be? This peaked my interest and I immediately thought of all the things I want changed. After all, it’s easy to pin-point the things you’d like other people to start/stop doing. I go a little nutsy when I see people throw rubbish out of their cars or when I hear of animals being mistreated. How dare they?! And then I thought of all the things I should change. As the great King of Pop said (he’s very wise), “If you want to make the world a better place, take a look at yourself and then, make the change.”

So, I’m starting with the woman in the mirror.

  • Stop wasting water. There was a water cut in my neighbourhood recently and because of that, I became hyper aware of how much water I actually waste on a daily basis. And I always thought of myself as someone who was really conscious of how I use water. I must do better in the future.
  • Keep learning. There’s nothing worse than letting our busy routines get in the way of more knowledge. I believe that it keeps our mind active and young. Learning each day is non-negotiable.
  • Be courageous. Because too many of us are not living our dreams. We’re living our fears.
  • Don’t judge. Everyone has a story to tell and each is special. If you keep your eyes open, you’ll see beauty where you previously saw none.
  • Develop a great routine. But that’s not good enough. The key is to stick to it. I don’t know about you but not having a typical 9-to-5 job can sometimes leave me a little scattered and feeling a bit lazy if I don’t have a routine to follow. Having a routine with great habits (like time to exercise) helps me keep to schedule and be more productive.
  • Complain less. Actually, make that stop complaining totally. It’s not sexy and serves no purpose. Do something about what you’re unhappy about (ie. change!) and remember to learn from each challenge.

What about you? What would you change?

Leave a Reply

