Ben’s General Food Store @ Bangsar Village

In yet another bid to find a great breakfast, my friends and I decided to give Ben’s General Food Store a try. The grocer is gone (apart from a few bottles of preserves and sauces plus a limited selection of breads and sausages) but the cafe remains open. We were surprised to find the place empty on a Saturday morning but this suited us fine – noisy restaurants and busy waiters just isn’t what I’m after.

I’d set my heart on a typical big American breakfast – eggs, mushroom, hash browns, sausages and ham, sliced tomatoes, choice of juice and coffee. Since I don’t eat meat, I always opt for more of my favourite mushrooms. Yum. But alas, I was not to have my choice that day. Ben’s serve up their own special kind of breakfast – the pizza breakfast. Everything you want comes on a thin crust pizza. I was a little dubious but hey, what’s the fun in life if you don’t keep trying new things? So I went ahead and ordered poached eggs and baby spinach on… a pizza! My friend chose what most closely resembled an American breakfast… on a pizza base.

Bens-@-Bangsar-Village-BAnd we liked it! The pizzas were well made, the bread delicious. But to be honest, we liked it enough for a change but I don’t think I’ll be hurrying back for more. This is just a personal preference though. Call me old fashioned but I want eggs served on buttered toast with mushrooms and such on the side.

We also ordered latte’s for three. And something sweet – french toast with sliced pears, nuts and butterscotch topping. This was supper yummy. As was the coffee – strong bodied and at just the right temperature.

Bens-@-Bangsar-Village-AHave you tried Ben’s General Food Store at Bangsar Village? What do you think of their pizzas with a modern twist? And where do you go for your dose of a great breakfast? I’d love to hear your recommendations.

Leave a Reply

