Recipe: Creamy Potato and Carrot Soup

creamy potato and carrot soup

I don’t know about you but I happen to love a good soup. I love that it’s quick and easy to whip up. And that it’s healthy. So when I was served a soup at my friend’s home the other day and literally went, “Wow! This is amazing”, I knew I had to rush home and try to make my own version of a potato and carrot soup (which is what was served). My husband is not a fan of carrots so I knew I had to up the amount of potatoes added. Also, he loves cheese (well, who doesn’t?) and I thought, “Heck, cheese would go superbly with this soup”. So I gathered my ingredients and set off to experiment in the kitchen.

It turned out to be a success. The recipe is now beautifully written in my book (yes, I’m one of those who likes handwritten recipes). It’s a keeper. The taste of carrots, which usually lend a sweeter note to the palate was muted considerably with the addition of more potatoes and the cheese. Perfecto. Let’s go.

creamy potato and carrot soup 2

Creamy Potato and Carrot Soup
Servings: 4
Total Time: 30 Minutes

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 0.5 cup diced yellow onion
  • 440 g potatoes, peeled and grated
  • 120 g carrot, peeled and grated
  • 1/4 tsp dried parsley
  • a pinch of dried dill
  • 700 ml low-sodium vegetable stock
  • 175 ml milk
  • 1 tbsp dijon mustard
  • 20 g grated parmesan or cheddar cheese
  • 0.5 teaspoon salt
  • freshly ground pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. Brown the butter, a little, then add the onions and cook until translucent.
  2. Add the grated potatoes and carrots as well as the dried parsley and dill. Stir for a few minutes until the vegetables are tender.
  3. Pour in the broth. Reduce heat to medium-low and allow to simmer for 15 minutes.
  4. Transfer everything into a blender and process until creamy but with a little texture.
  5. Return the soup back to your pot and add the milk and dijon mustard. Stir well and cook for additional 2 minutes.
  6. Taste for salt and pepper. I added lots of pepper!
  7. Remove from the heat and stir in the cheese.

PS. I just realised you can see my reflection on the spoon in that second picture : )

One thought on “Recipe: Creamy Potato and Carrot Soup

  1. Pingback: Carrots in Creamy Dill Sauce - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

