Review: Estee Lauder Double Wear – Light Makeup SPF10/PA++.

“For a look that stays vibrant and fresh whether it’s a workday, a workout or a weekend. Smooth it on once and don’t think twice about it.”

Formula Facts

  • Oil-free
  • Dermatologist-tested
  • Non-acnegenic
  • Won’t clog pores
  • Fragrance-free
  • Photo-friendly

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Foundation

I have never been a big fan of Estee Lauder products, but this product definitely caught my attention with the words “double wear” and “light”. While I was working as an auditor many moons ago in Singapore, I used to audit Estee Lauder the company as a whole and it was probably one of the best experiences I have had in auditing! Trust me, it’s way better than auditing shipyards and oil and gas companies. So this product definitely brought back memories.

But on to the foundation. I got beautician at the Estee Lauder counter to find the closet colour match to my skin (my shade – intensity 1.0) and have her put it on for me. She used a foundation brush and stippled it all over my face. Right there and then I was sold! I absolutely loved the finish. The best way to know if a foundation matches you is to always try it out, let it rest for 15-30 minutes, and then decide if you like it enough to purchase it. Try to walk out into the sunlight and observe the way it sits on your skin. Do you like the finish? Has it made your face look a little oily? What about the colour? Does it look natural? The fake lighting in a mall or shop is really not as good as sunlight. If you are still unsure, try asking for samples to take home and try before you commit. This way, you can give the foundation a test run for an entire day and will be able to tell much about its longevity.

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Foundation 2

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Foundation 3

Here’s the low-down on this foundation…

Application Method:

  1. Twist open the lid, squeeze the desired amount required from the tube onto the back of your hand
  2. I found the best way to apply this foundation was to use my beauty blender or a  foundation brush – both gives a natural yet polished finish
  3. Dab some loose powder to set the foundation

Pros

  1. Light weight and easy to apply
  2. Comes with SPF 10
  3. Oil free
  4. Fragrance free
  5. Conceals light blemishes, redness and discoloration on the skin
  6. Gives a sheer to medium coverage without being heavy on the skin
  7. Travel friendly packaging – slim and practical
  8. Can be used to cover dark circles
  9. Long lasting even in hot and humid weather (a major plus for Malaysian weather)
  10. The foundation does not oxidize to a different shade once applied on skin

Cons

  1. Expensive @ ~ RM 138
  2. Limited shade selections – only 6 shades
  3. Not suitable for dry skin

Verdict:

Although the foundation is marketed as being light weight, it still does a really great job at covering any discolourations, redness or blemishes on the skin.  If you’re after a foundation with greater coverage, this one is definitely buildable but I’m definitely not one for building up coverage as I feel it defeats the purpose of using a light foundation in the first place. This one gives a semi matte finish which looks natural and is extremely long lasting.

This product will suit ladies with normal to slightly oily skin. For those with oily skin, either powder up or blot every now and then as it does tend to get slightly oily around the T-zone area. Even in our hot and humid weather, this foundation did not oxidize on my skin to give an orange cast. I hate that. Unfortunately, those with dry skin will not find this foundation suitable for them as it didn’t seem to be very moisturising and your skin could end up looking flakey and cakey!

Will I repurchase this product?

Yes. I love that it is light, long lasting and gives good coverage. Love the semi matte finish also. My only gripe is the limited shade selection. I don’t believe intensity 1.0 is the best match for me; an intensity 0.5 would have been better. But I’ll have to make do with this as it’s the closest shade available for my colour. Again, don’t be shy… ask for a colour match from the ladies at the counter and ask for samples to take home. In my experience, Estee lauder is very generous with their samples.

This is a little awkward but here is a picture of me wearing the Estee Lauder foundation. Do you love the finish?

Estee Lauder Double Wear Light Foundation 4

6 thoughts on “Review: Estee Lauder Double Wear – Light Makeup SPF10/PA++.

  1. It looks great on you! I’ve never used Estee Lauder products, but my mom was obsessed with one of their perfumes when I was growing up. Obviously from your list though, the pros outweigh the cons!

  2. Pingback: Review: Estee Lauder Double Wear – Light Makeup SPF10/PA++. | Various stuff

Leave a Reply

