Maison Ikkoku

Maison Ikkoku

I’ve been wanting to check out this café-boutique-bar place for a while now, even since I was still living in Singapore, but could never bring myself to get up early enough to beat the crowd on weekends.

So back in January when I was in town for the Two Door Cinema Club gig, my sister and I stayed at a hostel in the Arab Street area and since we were in the vicinity, I took the chance to head to Maison Ikkoku over at Kandahar Street for brunch early Saturday morning.

The café opens at 9am daily, and I’d recommend that you head over no later than 10am during weekends if you (like me) are not too fond of queuing for a table. We were there around 9.30am – the place was still pretty much empty but most of the tables were reserved and we were lucky to get a table for 2 at the back of the café. If you do find yourself waiting in line, you could always venture upstairs to the second floor to check out their menswear boutique (sorry ladies). And at night, there’s a semi-alfresco cocktail bar on the third floor.

I love the interior and vibe of the café – minimalist with wooden tables and padded leather benches, mixed with a tinge of quirkiness with old pieces of furniture ‘hanging’ from the ceiling.

IMG_4506

I got myself an Earl Grey tea as I did not feel like having coffee that particular morning, which is unfortunate since they’re known for their specialty brews. But I did have a sip of my sister’s Café Latte and it was good – strong and aromatic.

IMG_4510

We had a very hearty brunch that morning, with a plate of French Toast with fresh berries and a Salmon Florentine, to share between the both of us. They serve all-day breakfasts only during weekends and have a different menu for weekdays.

IMG_4513

IMG_4512

Maison Ikkoku

We were stuffed by the time we were done with our 2 mains and, unfortunately, couldn’t find any more space for dessert. Will have to make a trip back the next time to try their cakes (heard good things about the Carrot Cake in particular). And if I can’t drag myself out of bed during the day, their unconventional mix of cocktails sound good to me as well (salted caramel cocktail, anyone?).

PS. Another café in Singapore we’re in love with.

Leave a Reply

