Missing The Joy Of Reading

Half Broke Horses

So I got to thinking the other day about book clubs. My sister and I have long dreamed about how fun it would be if we were living close by (she now stays in Singapore) so that we could start a book club (among other things)! Yes, I know life gets busy and we’ve all got commitments but just imagine.. Imagine snuggling up on a comfy sofa, lights slightly dimmed (only slightly because we’ve got to read), a cuppa hot choc beside you and a great book to dive into.

And wouldn’t it be all the more fun if we could invite anyone interested to join us? What a lovely way to meet new friends : )

Half Broke Horses2

What are you currently reading, lovelies? The last book I read, that left a lasting impression (hehe.. no pun intended), was “Half Broke Horses” by Jeannette Walls. It tells the story of the authors’ grandmother, Lily Casey Smith. A no-nonsense, extremely strong, independent and spirited woman who has much to teach us about overcoming troubles with a positive attitude. That, and living life to the absolute fullest!

I’m curious.. Which books made a difference in your life? I’d love to hear your recommendations.

2 thoughts on “Missing The Joy Of Reading

  1. I haven’t read “Half Broke Horses,” but I did read Walls’ “The Glass Castle.” I am from WV, where “The Glass Castle” (and presumably “Half Broke Horses”) takes place. It is so rare to have a voice like hers speaking on/about our state.

    I have a book club, which I love, and I didn’t know a single person in it when I joined. It has been a great experience, and I highly recommend it. We are currently reading “The Middlesteins.”

Leave a Reply

