Review: Chanel CC Cream

CC Cream Review

First there was BB Cream and now we have CC Cream!

Today I will be reviewing Chanel’s CC Cream. According to Chanel, it claims to address 5 actions in a single step.

  1. SOOTHES : Cornflower water comforts sensitive skin.
  2. MOISTURIZES : Hyaluronic acid helps maintain hydration level all day long by trapping and retaining moisture  inside the skin.
  3. PROTECTS: SPF 30 and PA+++ sun filters block aging-accelerating UVA-UVB rays. A mineral filter guarantees higher tolerance on the skin.
  4. PREVENTS: An active ingredient of natural origin, Rejuvencia, provides the best shield against external aggressions.
  5. EVENS OUT IMPERFECTIONS. Redness, dark spots and pores are visibly diminished.

Honestly, I did not jump onto the BB cream bandwagon but the CC cream really caught my attention or perhaps it was just the double C brand. With so many raving reviews, I purchased my first tube of CC Cream at Changi Airport Singapore for SGD 62 (it’s retailing at Chanel counters in Malaysia for RM165).  I was curious to see whether this product lived up to the hype.

And did it?

Application Method:

  1. I found the best way to apply the CC cream was to use my beauty blender. As the cream dries up really quickly, and if you are slow in your application, you might end up with patchy spots.
  2. With the beauty blender, the CC cream blends out really well.
  3. I finish off with some loose powder to set the foundation.

Blended out CC Cream

Pros:

  • The CC cream gives a nice powdery fruity scent that lasts a few minutes after application – The smell might be overpowering for some
  • The shade has a cool yellow undertone which is suitable for neutralizing most redness on the face
  • Moisturizes the face
  • Comes with SPF – A decent protection of SPF 30 and PA +++
  • Suitable for light coverage and build-able medium coverage
  • Minimizes the appearance of pores
  • Gives a semi-matte natural finish
  • It is non-comedogenic – It doesn’t cause me to suffer from breaks outs 
  • Lasting power on my skin is about 5 hours. After blotting, the coverage can last me up to 8 hours (I have normal skin with a slightly oily T-Zone)
  • Does not oxidize on the skin

Cons

  • When I saw it in Malaysia and Singapore, it only came in one shade (Beige 20) but perhaps by now or sometime in the future, Chanel may develop more shades for different skin tones
  • Suitable only for individuals with light skin tone
  • It dries up easily
  • Not suitable for oily skin as it can get too greasy
  • Not suitable for dry skin as it can get too flaky upon application
  • Does not completely cover acne scares or blemishes

Verdict:
If you have good skin that is not oily nor dry the CC cream might be a suitable cream for you to give a light coverage and a build-able medium coverage.

It did a great job in covering the redness in my skin and in minimizing the appearance of pores, though it did nothing to conceal my cute freckles.

My skin was well moisturized throughout the day when I have the CC cream on, but it does get a little bit too greasy on my T-zone.

Will I be repurchasing the Chanel CC Cream?

For the price tag, I don’t think it’s worth it as there are much better products out there that works better for my skin. Having said that, I will still use what’s remaining in my 30 ml tube. I like the product but I don’t love it!

6 thoughts on “Review: Chanel CC Cream

  1. Pingback: The Difference Between BB and CC Creams | peoniesandpancakes

  2. Pingback: Review: Diorskin Nude Skin-Glowing Makeup SPF 15 | peoniesandpancakes

Leave a Reply

